The Honors Quad: Told by Someone Who Never Lived There

austin__tx_-_Google_Maps

I am aware that on some level this blog should help prospective and new Plan II students; it should describe the Plan II experience so that people don’t show up to the first week of college and completely freak out because they had no idea what it would be like. And so, I feel obligated to talk about the Honors Quad, but there is a small yet important problem with that: I never lived there. I never even saw an Honors Quad room, because I never wanted to. Look, I just do not care about the Honors Quad. But despite this deep-seated apathy, I have managed to understand some things about the Honors Quad and life there, so I have written this list of things to help new Plan II students out.

 

 

1. Quadders do not care what you think of them. They assure themselves that they are the best people ever, and they don’t associate with anyone who would object to their obscene self-worship. honors quad 1

 

2. They have weird parties.

honors quad 2

 

3. Some crazy bullshit goes on in those dorms.

honors quad 3

 

4. Everyone has seen Fight Club, and they all think it is super deep and relevant to life, and they make references to it all the time. Annoying.

honors quad 4

 

5. There is something called the Blobby. I don’t know what it is or what goes on in there, but I imagine it is something like this:

honors quad 5

 

6. They always have nutritious, well-rounded meals.

honors quad 6

 

7. There are pianos everywhere.

honors quad 7

 

8. They think the quad is the center of campus. They will force everyone to meet there for events, because “it’s close.”

honors quad 8

 

9. They eat at Kerby Lane every single day.

honors quad 11

 

10. They play ultimate frisbee every single day.

honors quad 12

 

11. This is them.

honors quad 10

 

12. And this is me. I am including this for perspective.

honors quad 9

 

 

 

If you would like some actually useful information about the Honors Quad, you can go to the UT Housing website, or check out some videos on YouTube. This one has a pretty decent overview of what the Honors Quad looks like and the services it provides for residents. This one is a tour of the honors quad made by the old Undecided team. And this one is a mockumentary about frisbee in the honors quad. DISCLAIMER: I haven’t actually watched any of these. I just clicked through them with the sound muted to make sure the videos still worked. So they are probably boring, but I don’t know because I ain’t got the time or motivation to find out.

2 thoughts on “The Honors Quad: Told by Someone Who Never Lived There

  1. Howdy I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am
    here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post and a all round
    exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it
    and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the great jo.

Leave a Reply

